Checking Solar Panel Wiring

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Checking Solar Panel Wiring

I have 4 100 watt solar panels connected to 30amp Windy Nation P30L controller. On a pretty sunny day around 3 or 4pm it was registering 4 amps which seemed kind low to me. I'm new to this so I was wondering what is the best way to verify that the wiring is correct? I can read voltage from the negative and positive terminals that all the panels are wired too. I also checked the continuity between the negative wire of the farthest left panel and the farthest right panel and I get a beep. So it seems like the wiring is good. Anything I'm missing or should look for? I appreciate any help!

Originally posted by greg8325 View Post
    I have 4 100 watt solar panels connected to 30amp Windy Nation P30L controller. On a pretty sunny day around 3 or 4pm it was registering 4 amps which seemed kind low to me. I'm new to this so I was wondering what is the best way to verify that the wiring is correct? I can read voltage from the negative and positive terminals that all the panels are wired too. I also checked the continuity between the negative wire of the farthest left panel and the farthest right panel and I get a beep. So it seems like the wiring is good. Anything I'm missing or should look for? I appreciate any help!
    Two questions.

1. Did you first connect the windy Nation to a battery before you connected the solar panels to the windy nation?

2. Do you have your panels wire in series or parallel?

With 4 amps (~ the Imp of one panel) and what you mention above in Bold type it sounds like you have them wired in series which will add up the voltage and not the current of those 4 panels.

Comment

If the negative wires have continuity, and the positive wires all have continuity, then the panels are wired in parallel... that is correct for your PWM controller. No negative should be wired to any positive.