Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Mitsubishi DiamondPlus UPS as Battery pool for solarpanel system?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Mitsubishi DiamondPlus UPS as Battery pool for solarpanel system?

Hello all,

I've recently acquired a nearly brand new Mitsubishi DiamondPlus 1100A Series for close to nothing. I believe I have the 10kva model as seen here http://www.meppi.com/Products/Uninte...20Brochure.pdf

This unit was thrown in for free with a recent lot of equipment that I purchase for an old server room at a large retailer here in Canada.

I know these units are quite costly to purchase brand new and are not probably not meant to be use with solar panels and from what I read, 10kva is quite a lot of power (probably more than I need).

I need to know if it would be stupid for me to use such a device for a solar array. I'm thinking it might be the opportunity i've been waiting for to complete my solar panel project.

I'm quite new to all of this so I don't even know if this unit can even be used to accomplish what I want however if It can, what other components would I require? (Solar Panels, Inverters, etc..?)

My other concern is I've been told by an electrician that this unit may produce quite a bit of heat when active.

Any guidance with this would be greatly appreciated!

It is a very good Dual Conversion UPS. Dual Conversion is as good as it gets in a UPS. What you do not know is what Dual Conversion means or you would already know the issues.

It means it takes AC power (208 VAC 3-phase) and rectifies it to DC for the batteries operating at 288 volts nominal, then the DC is ran to the 3-Phase 208/120 inverter. So the UPS is constantly running off the rectifiers under normal operating conditions. It also has a Static Bypass switch so the batteries and Inverter can be taken off-line for maintenance without interrupting power.

So here are your challenges.