Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • greg8325
    • Apr 2015

Wireless On Off Switch for Inverter

Hey guys, and gals, I'm new to solar power and this community. I've done a DIY solar panel system with 2 100 watt panels hooked up in parallel that run through a solar charge controller to 5 car 12 volt car batteries and then to a DC to AC converter. Is it ok to leave the inverter on all the time even if no current is being pulled from it? If that's bad or wasteful is there a way to wirelessly turn the inverter off with something simple? I have a Bestek 1000w inverter for reference. Here's an amazon link if you need to see what inverter I'm talking about. I can't wait to learn more about adding more solar power to my house! I can post some pics of my very DIY project so far. It's nothing amazing but I'm new and trying to learn and I figure this forum would be a good place to start! Thanks for any help in advanced!

• Mike90250
    • May 2009

I can use wifi to turn my inverter ON-OFF via the ComBox. But generally, better inverters have a wired/less remote control panel. Trying to add something is not likely to work well
    Powerfab top of pole PV mount (2) | Listeroid 6/1 w/st5 gen head | XW6048 inverter/chgr | Iota 48V/15A charger | Morningstar 60A MPPT | 48V, 800A NiFe Battery (in series)| 15, Evergreen 205w "12V" PV array on pole | Midnight ePanel | Grundfos 10 SO5-9 with 3 wire Franklin Electric motor (1/2hp 240V 1ph ) on a timer for 3 hr noontime run - Runs off PV ||
    || Midnight Classic 200 | 10, Evergreen 200w in a 160VOC array ||
    || VEC1093 12V Charger | Maha C401 aa/aaa Charger | SureSine | Sunsaver MPPT 15A

solar: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Solar
    gen: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Lister

Comment

• greg8325
      • Apr 2015

Ok, got it. That's what I figured. Is hitting the off switch enough for a standard inverter or do you need to completely disconnect the leads to stop any battery draw?

Comment

• Johann
        • Feb 2013