Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Another noob, probably asking the same old questions....

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Another noob, probably asking the same old questions....

Hello solar pros,

I am just a lowly printer tech and admittedly know nothing about solar BUT I want to utilize it for my new project, here it is....

I am building a 4 x 4 chicken coop. It's raised up 35" from the ground and there is a door in the floor. I am going to use a 12v car power antenna hooked up to a 12v timer to open and close the door in the morning and at night. I would also like to have a 12v LED "barn light" or "wall sconce" on the front to stay lit up at night (and also as an indicator that the door is shut).

I don't know how much draw the antenna motor would consume and as for the bulb, I was just thinking about an 1157 LED car bulb.

What would be some suggestions as for the size and type of panel, controller, battery?

Thanks!
    Mark

Originally posted by mjmjross View Post
    Hello solar pros,

I am just a lowly printer tech and admittedly know nothing about solar BUT I want to utilize it for my new project, here it is....

I am building a 4 x 4 chicken coop. It's raised up 35" from the ground and there is a door in the floor. I am going to use a 12v car power antenna hooked up to a 12v timer to open and close the door in the morning and at night. I would also like to have a 12v LED "barn light" or "wall sconce" on the front to stay lit up at night (and also as an indicator that the door is shut).

I don't know how much draw the antenna motor would consume and as for the bulb, I was just thinking about an 1157 LED car bulb.

What would be some suggestions as for the size and type of panel, controller, battery?

Thanks!
    Mark
    Am I the only one who's seeing chicken more coop applications lately ?

Comment

So your chickens are going to free range in the day and go into the coop at sunset?