150W monocrystalline with PWM vs 200W polycrystalline with MPPT

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 150W monocrystalline with PWM vs 200W polycrystalline with MPPT

I am completely new to solar power and I am considering buying a solar panel system for an off-grid hut in Wales, where I will be staying during the month of February. I require roughly 100 to 200 daily Watt-hours to power an LED light and a laptop on which I will be working. I have found two solar panels on ebay that seem to fit my needs, but as I have zero experience in buying solar panels, I thought I'd ask here before going ahead with the purchase.

Here are the two panels:
    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/150W-solar...item463066bf9f
    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/2-100Watt-...3D301459750815

My main question is: Would it be better to buy the 150W monocrystalline panel with its included PWM charge controller, or the 200W polycrystalline panel with its MPPT charge controller? (Both controllers are rated at 20Ah). I know that monocrystalline panels are slightly more efficient, but I assume the extra 50W of panel would counter this. I've also heard that MPPT charge controllers are more efficient in systems of 150W and higher, and also in cold conditions (I will be using the panel in British winter at a reasonably high altitude). Taking this into consideration, which panel would be more suitable?

Any help would be much appreciated.

Antony

The 150 watt panel with PWM at best will supply 8 amps. The 200 watt panel with MPPT at best will supply 17 amps or more than twice the power on the output.
    MSEE, PE

Comment

i have the ecoworthy 20amp mppt controller that is showned with the 200 watt kit, so i can ascertain that it is reliable and a true mppt, i been using mine 24/7 for almost 2 years.
      And i have to agree 200 watts is better than 150 watts, 2 or 3 extra amps dont sound like alot but in the solar world it is. It gets your battery charged quicker which is always good.