Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • paara
    • Dec 2014

bypass diodes

i am new to diy solar panel, but are planing to build some as a spare time project. I have a small wind turbine and a grid tie inverter that can accept pv dc from 100-450v. Mppt?

I am planing to make 4 panels: each 27,5v in series for total 110v 8a.

I understand bypass diodes protect cell strings when part of the panel is shaded.

What I dont understand is how to calculate the voltage rating for the diodes.

I have read 2 different answers.
    1:voltage for whole array. In my case 110v
    2: voltage for bypassed celles which could be like 5v depending of how many diods per panel.

I find very few bypass diodes that will handel 110 + v.

Can someone clarify this for me? I have read and searched for 3 days prior to posting this.

Thanks for any help
  • bcroe
    Solar Fanatic
    • Jan 2012

Originally posted by paara
    i am new to diy solar panel, but are planing to build some as a spare time project. I have a small wind turbine and a grid tie inverter that can accept pv dc from 100-450v. Mppt?

I am planing to make 4 panels: each 27,5v in series for total 110v 8a.

I understand bypass diodes protect cell strings when part of the panel is shaded.

What I dont understand is how to calculate the voltage rating for the diodes.

I have read 2 different answers.
    1:voltage for whole array. In my case 110v
    2: voltage for bypassed cells which could be like 5v depending of how many diods per panel.

I find very few bypass diodes that will handel 110 + v. Can someone clarify this
    for me? I have read and searched for 3 days prior to posting this.
    The BYPASS diodes let current flow around a group of cells that aren't producing
    (because of shade or a fault). They allow the operable cells to continue to operate,
    at a reduced overall voltage. The bypass diodes can see the maximum forward
    current the array can produce. But generally a diode only is wired to bypass 10