Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Solar cell phone battery questions

Hi all,

I am trying to find the best solar cell phone charger for my cell phone. The phone battery is 3.8v 5.45wh and 1,440 mAh. I'm a little new to the solar sphere, and want to get a solar charger that has the right specifications, but I don't want to overpay for unnecessary storage/battery. I'd like to be able to fully charge my phone in 4 hours. Could you tell me the solar wattage necessary to do so, and the size/ specifications of the battery I would need? Any calculations would also be really helpful- I'm trying to figure this out!

Thanks so much in advance!

Mary

Hi Mary - Welcome to Solar Panel Talk!

Please just post questions in one forum.

Russ
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Comment

Originally posted by SolarMary View Post
      Hi all,

I am trying to find the best solar cell phone charger for my cell phone. The phone battery is 3.8v 5.45wh and 1,440 mAh. I'm a little new to the solar sphere, and want to get a solar charger that has the right specifications, but I don't want to overpay for unnecessary storage/battery. I'd like to be able to fully charge my phone in 4 hours. Could you tell me the solar wattage necessary to do so, and the size/ specifications of the battery I would need? Any calculations would also be really helpful- I'm trying to figure this out!

Thanks so much in advance!

Mary
      So, I'll assume you have a dead battery and want to charge it to full in 4 hours. So you would have to harvest about 6 watt hours, and allow for some losses along the way. 6/4=1.5watts per hour - round up to 2 watts to make the math easier. I'll assume that you have 4 GOOD hours of solar charging power (in winter, many places do not, so you need a larger panel)