12v battery charging from an 18v portable solar panel?

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Davecg2
    • Nov 2014

12v battery charging from an 18v portable solar panel?

I just bought this portable solar panel for when i go camping and backpacking. I can currently use it to charge my portable powerbank to keep my phone charged. There are times when I'm several miles into a state forest or something and could potentially be stranded if my car battery failed. So I was thinking it would be great if I could find an adapter or something to be able to charge my car battery if I needed to. I realize it would be a very slow charge and potentially take even a day+ or something but even that would be a lot better than nothing.

I searched for an adapter to trickle charge from 18v to 12v for this specific panel, but haven't had much luck. I did find a few things like this though which tells me it's at least a possibility. I have very little knowledge of solar panels and converting current, but it seems like I just need to step the voltage down to 12v and limit the wattage? That sample had 1.5 watts so I'm not sure if more wattage is possible and if it would speed the charge process up or possibly damage the battery.

Any help or advice would be much appreciated. I spent some time researching and I could just buy one of the trickle chargers separately. But I figured since I just bought this really nice 40w panel I can probably charge car a battery with it too, I just need to figure out how.
    Last edited by inetdog; 11-17-2014, 10:19 PM. Reason: Link approved, post released from moderation.
  • inetdog
    Super Moderator
    • May 2012

Originally posted by Davecg2