X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Chicken Coop Lighting

Woodstock-20141009-00175.jpg

Hi All,
    I'm a newbie to this so I have a few questions. I have a small chicken coop that I want to have a light in that will run from 5am to 8am and from 4pm to 8 pm.

I have installed a battery with inverter and a timer… I purchased a small solar panel as a charger but it was way too small at 6w. I added a second panel at 18w for a total of 24. my light is an LED at 8w. The battery I'm using is one I had… 750 CCA car battery….

I have determined the inverter is using too much power just in standby mode…. I have ordered a charge controller and a 12v timer switch to do everything in 12v. I also ordered a new 6w 12v led bulb to fit the E27 fixture.

It seems such a small demand to run a 6w or 8w build for 7 hours a day…

I suspect I need a deep cycle battery for this..

Anyone have any thoughts?

Regards,
    Chris

What's your location? Most likely the panel is still way to small. You're running the light for 7 hours a day but may only have 1 to 2 hours of insolation (sun hours) available. Daylight hours is not the same as insolation.

Something you should look at instead of willey nilley buying crap ins a light controller. Morningstars SL series would most likely work. it can be set to turn the light on at dusk and stay on for X number hours and do the same at before dawn and off at dawn. It would cut down on the wasted load of the timer.

http://www.morningstarcorp.com/products/sunlight/

Comment

I'm in Connecticut

I'm located in CT, and at this time of year I'd say we have 5 to 6 hours of strong sunlight on the days we have sun… We are a little over a month away from the shortest day of the year… The charge controller I just purchased has some of the same functions as the one one in your link. I also purchased a 12 timer switch because it can handle more than one event a day. it's draw is 6ma.