Vmax slr125 ?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Vmax slr125 ?

I am very new to solar. I recently put together a small system that I can grow over time. It currently has 2 150w solar panels, a 40a MPPT charge controller, a 2000w inverter, and a single VMAX SLR125 solar battery. The battery worked great a month ago, but when I used it the other day, I noticed it was sitting at 12.7v. I left it to charge for a day via the panels (it is now fall now, so the panels dont get the same amount of sun as in the summer) and checked it the next day, 12.6v. I brought the battery in the garage, and tested it with my multimeter, and it showed 12.6v, so I hooked it up to the battery charger. Last night at 7:30pm, it read 13.04v. I unhooked the charger last night, and this morning at 6:30am, it read 12.82v and was not hooked up to anything. I thought fully charged was 12.84v? I'm wondering if I have a bad cell and need to send the battery back? Is there anything I need to check, or can check at home that anyone would recommend before I contact the vendor? I've only had the battery maybe 2 months, and have just hooked things up to it maybe 3 times to test functionality, and it used to appear to charge very quickly everytime over the solar panels. Now it appears that it isnt fully charging off of the solar panels over 12.7v The only thing that changed was the amount of sun the panels are receiving, and I cannot imagine that over the course of a few days it would make that big of a difference. It also seems the battery is having issues holding a charge based on last night/this mornings readings.

Trying to measure the voltage of a battery down to .002 volts is almost impossible, your splitting hairs between 12.84v and 12.82v. As far as what you remove daily and what your panels can put back, thats another issue. Just the Inverter tare load watts may be enough to pull the battery down.

Comment