Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • ragnarviking
    • Oct 2014

Battery-less, off-grid set-up?

Please forgive a total newbie if I ask ask a question that has been answered in another post. I will be joining with others to provide chicken houses to third-world villages, primarily in tropical and subtropical regions. Our building design requires the use of a centrifugal type exhaust fan. I have found 12 vdc/17 amp (450 cfm) and 48 vdc/4 amp (400 cfm) examples for sale. My question is: Can the battery be left out of the loop? Are controllers available that can flip on when the voltage is sufficient and turn off when voltage is too low? Intermittent power is OK. Off at night is OK. It appears to me that removing the battery from the system solves the primary maintenance issue. Maintenance is key when most villages have no one with the necessary skills. I welcome any suggestion that would aid us with our design and our goal to provide 400 to 500 cfm of air movement when the sun shines.
  • inetdog
    Super Moderator
    • May 2012

Originally posted by ragnarviking
    Please forgive a total newbie if I ask ask a question that has been answered in another post. I will be joining with others to provide chicken houses to third-world villages, primarily in tropical and subtropical regions. Our building design requires the use of a centrifugal type exhaust fan. I have found 12 vdc/17 amp (450 cfm) and 48 vdc/4 amp (400 cfm) examples for sale. My question is: Can the battery be left out of the loop? Are controllers available that can flip on when the voltage is sufficient and turn off when voltage is too low? Intermittent power is OK. Off at night is OK. It appears to me that removing the battery from the system solves the primary maintenance issue. Maintenance is key when most villages have no one with the necessary skills. I welcome any suggestion that would aid us with our design and our goal to provide 400 to 500 cfm of air movement when the sun shines.