Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • stevebarghni
    • Oct 2014

100% off grid rv?

is it possible? most solar panels online are only 100 watts with controllers up to 800 watts. I know there are much larger systems out there. Is it possible to run everything on 800 watts and if so or if not how many batteries would i need?

I am new to solar and energy systems. Converting watts, amp, and kw/hr and everything is still like a foreign language at this point.
  • jimindenver
    Solar Fanatic
    • Jun 2014

To properly set up a RV, you need to provide a lot of info as far as needs, conditions and budget. Start with understanding how much power you will need to replace daily. How much battery do you need to support you for a number of days when the sun doesn't play well and how much solar to get on the roof to support those batteries and get them back up relative quickly when the sun does come back. Even the conditions you expect to be in have a impact as it may dictate what kind of panel you chose.

The other way is to put as much panel on the roof as you can, as much AH's in the battery bay as possible and hope for the best. I have dealt with RVs with over a 1000w up top and massive banks that would allow me to go camping with neither solar or generator needed at all. Some of them never need a generator, some run one daily as even at that level, their needs out pace their system. 230w kept us off the generator while running basic trailer functions. 490w allowed us to leave the generator home while using a big inverter to run the microwave and such.

So it can be a slow process to do right. You could go to a installer and make it easier but even then do some homework and get a handle on your needs and possible gear so that you understand what the installer is doing.

Comment

• stevebarghni
      • Oct 2014

Originally posted by jimindenver