Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Building a 36watt panel to charge my devices with . What else can I do with it?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Building a 36watt panel to charge my devices with . What else can I do with it?

Hi, complete newbie here. I'm building a 36-watt solar panel with usb connectors to charge my mobile devices. 36 watts is kind of a lot for a USB charger I reckon. The ones sold at stores are at most 16 watts it seems. So tell me, what else can my solar panels power? Obviously I would need more than just a USB port of i want to charge or power other things.

Also, with a 36 watt panel, how many devices will I be able to charge simultaneously?

Thanks

You didn't specify at what voltage your panel is, 5v or 12v?

Thing is, either way you don't want to plug the panel directly into the cellphone etc.

The easiest thing to do is build a 36w / 12v panel. That means the OCV or open circuit voltage directly across the panel terminals with nothing else attached should be somewhere in the 18-22v range. A "nominal" 12v panel actually has this higher voltage open circuit, not 12v. Let's do the math:

36w / 18v = 2A. (Basic power formula of P/I*E. But that is best-case, you'll likely end up with a bit less. Let's count on about 1.5A max under real world conditions. That would power up most stuff nicely these days.

If you do that, you can simply use a quality mobile DC > USB adapter. My fav for quality is Anker. One problem in the early days was that of trying to find / build a specialized cable to ensure the fastest charging for your device. The "IQ" feature of the modern Anker line has this, and eliminates much of the headache of specialized cabling. There are a few models to choose from. Since they accept up to about 24v, they will work fine and regulate the nominal 12v panel you are making.