About to install LG300A1C-B3 300W AC microinverters, got some Q's

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• About to install LG300A1C-B3 300W AC microinverters, got some Q's

I got a bunch of bids and in the end I decided to try a panel which seems to be brand spanking new as I can't find much info of it online anywhere. It is the LG 300W panel with LG microinverters, model number LG300A1C-B3. The spec sheet is attached. My installer says that they checked their distributor and I am about 2 weeks from being able to get these. Anyone have any knowledge of these? Any issues you can think of? Check the spec sheet? I really dont know a ton. I've done comparison between some similarly priced 250W panels and overpriced Sun Power 345W panels, etc. but beyond that I am a real novice.

I am doing 20 panels, upgrading my old 100A center fed crappy breaker box to a 125A model and all that for $25k. I get 30% back from the US Feds in April.
    I am in San Diego, and the side of my home which faces southwest area I already have occupied with solar thermal heating for my pool. I debated on moving it, but at BEST I could only get 10 panels over on that side due to new 2014 fire code where I have to make sure to leave an extra 3' of space before the top of the roof, so it would end up being a single row of panels, rather than a double row (ideal) because of the needed 3'. So this helped me decide to leave the thermal on that side (my wife loves it as our pool gets use now as it is warm) and go with the other side of the home where I can fit the 20 panels. That side is less steep too. The companies have speculated that the system will produce roughly 7,029kWh/year. It isnt IDEAL having it on that side, but it doesnt seem to be a real deal killer.