Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• PV wires on roof surface

Hi there,

I am an inspector, and on a PV job I was looking at the other day, all the wiring was left lying on the roof surface. The roof was near-flat, with a painted-on-metal finish. The array was quite low, perhaps 4" off the surface.

I am quite clear that this is not optimal, but actual code is a bit less definitive: I think it comes down to "workmanlike manner" language.

Anyway, I'd be interested in hearing other's opinions of how important this detail is.

K

Originally posted by GreenCodeInspector View Post
    Hi there,

I am an inspector, and on a PV job I was looking at the other day, all the wiring was left lying on the roof surface. The roof was near-flat, with a painted-on-metal finish. The array was quite low, perhaps 4" off the surface.

I am quite clear that this is not optimal, but actual code is a bit less definitive: I think it comes down to "workmanlike manner" language.

Anyway, I'd be interested in hearing other's opinions of how important this detail is.

K
    First question, of course, is what kind of wire was used.
    Clearly it has to be suitable for both wet conditions and sun exposure. The new PV wire type will meet both of those conditions (although any color but black may end up white in a year). And its thicker insulation will resist abrasion better than any other unjacketed wire type.
    The next concern would be the ever popular "subject to physical damage" provision.
    Finally, the temperature correction required for ampacity will be somewhere between non-roof ambient and the NEC temperature adder for conduit exposed on rooftop.

Enjoy!
    SunnyBoy 3000 US, 18 BP Solar 175B panels.

Comment

The wire has to be secured also, so it will not flex and flap in the wind. And have UV rated insulation.