Probably an easy answer for someone

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Probably an easy answer for someone

hello, I ordered 40 of the 3x6 cells, but my question is this, each cell if it works correctly should put out .5 volts, would I be ok in using all 40 cells for the same panel giving it an output of 20 volts? I'm new to this and mainly experimenting but to charge a 12v lead-acid battery iv heard that all that is needed is 18 volts meaning I'd only put 36 of the cells on one panel, I want to use all 40, if I did would 20 volts be to much and ruin a 12v battery? another nonrelated question is the encapsulation process, in the stuff iv been looking at in the last week nobody really seems to sure about what is the best way to go about encapsulating the cells, has anyone tried using that stuff "flex seal" its much cheaper than the that sylgard stuff and was curious if it worked? any other ideas about doing this? im on a pretty tight budget as well, thank you in advance!!!!

Depeds on charge controller type. If you use PWM, adding 4 more cells is a complete waste of time as it will not add any power. You would just be throwing away the cells. I woul dnot worry much about it thought because you will end up breaking half of them anyway, and some will not test out and cannot be used.
    MSEE, PE

Comment

lol that's actually a very good point, 36 it is! but for future reference, when building panels, is there a certain voltage range that I should try to stay in per panel so that I'm not wasting any cells like you are saying?

Comment

Originally posted by avp12304 View Post
        lol that's actually a very good point, 36 it is! but for future reference, when building panels, is there a certain voltage range that I should try to stay in per panel so that I'm not wasting any cells like you are saying?
        Depends on panel usage, battery or Grid Tied. With MPPT chargers today, battery panels are obsolete.
        MSEE, PE

Comment