X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • GreenHaven
    • May 2014

Is there a limit?

Hi & good day to all.

My name is Ravin, and I run a non-profit organization, called Green Haven. Amongst others things, we build solar panels from scratch, for orphanages and such. Though I am relatively new at this, I have but one question for the building of my solar panels...

Is there a limit to how many cells I can use per panel, or how many panels I have per array? Like I'm wondering if I had too many cells, and the voltage exceeded 240 Volts, would that be a problem? What is the basic calculative limit I have for this?

I would really appreciate some input on this matter as it's been bugging me for quite some time. Thank you in advance for your time & kind consideration. Good day.

Ravin GH
  • Mike90250
    • May 2009

I wish you luck. Most DIY panels fail in a year, from moisture ingress.

I'll assume these panels will be powering 12V systems. for every 12 volts, you need about 36-40 cells in series to provide enough voltage in hot conditions, to charge a battery.
    Powerfab top of pole PV mount (2) | Listeroid 6/1 w/st5 gen head | XW6048 inverter/chgr | Iota 48V/15A charger | Morningstar 60A MPPT | 48V, 800A NiFe Battery (in series)| 15, Evergreen 205w "12V" PV array on pole | Midnight ePanel | Grundfos 10 SO5-9 with 3 wire Franklin Electric motor (1/2hp 240V 1ph ) on a timer for 3 hr noontime run - Runs off PV ||
    || Midnight Classic 200 | 10, Evergreen 200w in a 160VOC array ||
    || VEC1093 12V Charger | Maha C401 aa/aaa Charger | SureSine | Sunsaver MPPT 15A

solar: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Solar
    gen: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Lister

Comment

• GreenHaven
      • May 2014

Originally posted by Mike90250
      I wish you luck. Most DIY panels fail in a year, from moisture ingress.

I'll assume these panels will be powering 12V systems. for every 12 volts, you need about 36-40 cells in series to provide enough voltage in hot conditions, to charge a battery.