GeoThermal Heat Pump

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• GeoThermal Heat Pump

So, the one thing I have learned monitoring my solar system this summer is that my A/C is responsible for the majority of my electric consumption. So in the interests of conservation, I'm now studying to install a Geothermal Heat Pump for my house. The idea to pump heat or cool out of the ground rather than the air, like normal heat pumps do.

I'm curious if anyone has any experience with Geothermal Heat Pumps. I have been studying it, and everyone says it can't be installed by anyone that is not a trained professional (even more so than Solar). Just the same, I plan to learn everything I need to know to install my own system. So, I'm wondering if anyone else installed one of systems.

Many of them back in the mid seventies.
    It ain't rocket science.
    The most efficient are open loop
    However water quality and Ph need to be very good for systems to last
    Most around here are closed loop with glycol.
    NABCEP certified Technical Sales Professional

[URL="http://www.solarpaneltalk.com/showthread.php?5334-Solar-Off-Grid-Battery-Design"]http://www.solarpaneltalk.com/showth...Battery-Design[/URL]

[URL]http://www.calculator.net/voltage-drop-calculator.html[/URL] (Voltage drop Calculator among others)

[URL="http://www.gaisma.com"]www.gaisma.com[/URL]

Comment

Originally posted by t5800512 View Post
      So, the one thing I have learned monitoring my solar system this summer is that my A/C is responsible for the majority of my electric consumption.
      Well anyone in the south already knosw that as cooling makes up for about 75% of electric use. The rest is peanuts.