Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • mattro
    • Oct 2011

Newbie tyring to understand battery types for emerg solar setup

I am new to solar (sighs from crowd). I am wanting to build a small system on a VERY tight budget, trying to buy decent stuff that will have many years good use and a system I can grow. Intended use is to charge AA batteries, charge handheld electronics (phones and such); run future small HAM radio, and run a string of LED lights; all in the unlikely event of "lights out" SHTF. I understand the basics of calculating demand and recharge. I am planning on a Renogy 100w panel and hopefully an entry level MPPT controller.

My big question is the batteries. I would like to keep the initial battery cost at $100 but dont want to throw money away. I am not understanding the difference in usability and life span between Walmart 29DC and a true deep cycle. The usable AH is almost impossible to compare and I think the hybrid Walmart battery's tolerable discharge level is no where as deep as a true deep cycle. I cant really afford two Sams Club GC2 batteries at $85 bucks (to get to 12v) each but will if it makes a world of difference, but it appears (without better knowledge) that the Sams 29DC has a similar capacity to two GC2 batteries??? Quality 20AH 12volt deep cycle batteries run about $45 each, but how would two of those compare to the Sams 29DC? If the 29DC serves its purpose for 3-4 years then junks out with light usage, that is not completely unacceptable.

Harbor freight has 12 Volt, 35 Amp Hour AGM for $73. That would give me true deep cycle without having to buy two right away to get to 12v.

Finding 12v appliances for a prolonged lights out would be nice but I understand I would quickly outgrow this small setup. Being able to smartly add panels and increase the capacity of battery bank would be nice without throwing the initial batteries away.